Saturday 18th September from 10:30am to 4pm
Fulneck Moravian Church & Museum
Fulneck, Pudsey, Leeds, LS28 8NT
Step back in time and experience the charm of the unique heritage village of Fulneck.
Starting from the Moravian Church, visit and enjoy the new exhibition centred around food, and explore the heritage museum. Discover more about the history of the settlement on a guided tour and learn from the newly installed heritage information board.
Fulneck Food Facts will provide an unusual and unexpected insight into some of the settlement’s social and religious background. In the 18th century food was produced to survive and to earn an income. Food was a necessity of life and an inspiration for creative work. Food continues to play a symbolic role in the life of the Moravian Church. Each guided tour will include a brief monologue by a character describing how life was in the early years of the settlement.
Opposite the Church at the end of the line of cottages is the small but stunning Fulneck Museum. Full of artefacts concerning the history of the Fulneck Settlement and the Moravian Church worldwide, including:
Artefacts brought back by Moravian Church missionaries from Labrador and the Himalayas can be found in this room, as well as items relating to life at Fulneck Settlement.
The parlour gives a suggestion of the leisure activities of the 19th century. There are toys of the period, writing a sewing implements and other items, in particular a collection of Goss souvenirs.
Here is to be found the original Fulneck Fire Engine and an account of its history. There is also a display on the history of Fulneck’s Boys Brigade. The room and the scullery have been used as a shop over the years among them a butcher’s and a shoe maker’s.
The artefacts in this room give an idea of how clothes and pots were cleaned in past times. There is a mangle, a winter hedge (clothes horse) and flat irons as well as other familiar items. Can you find the butter pats?
The working hand loom has a flying shuttle invented by John Kay in 1733 to enable one person to work the loom alone. There are also two sock knitting machines – both wool cloth production and sock knitting were occupations done by the menfolk to support the community. On the wall by the door are samples of cloth woven on this loom.
Period clothes and accessories can be seen here among a miscellany of items. There are dolls, children’s furniture, samplers and a model of a flax spinning wheel. One sampler made in 1769 is of special interest.
Admission is free but donations are gratefully received. The museum is run by volunteers and relies on donations from visitors and ‘Friends of the Museum’, charges for tours of the settlement and sales in the Museum Shop.
There are steps to the indoor refreshment hall. Care should be taken as the road passes through the settlement. There are very uneven surfaces, slopes and steps through the settlement and during the tour. Appropriate footwear necessary. Some restrictions as face masks or distancing may be expected There is a one way system through the village. Disabled parking is limited
This event will run in line with local & national government guidelines at the time of the festival. Some safety measures may remain in place even after the government have removed them .ie social distancing and face masks and numbers may be restricted in certain buildings.
Max 12 people per tour/session. 30 minutes, Tours outside at 1100, 1200, 1300, 1400 & 1500. Entrance viewings to museum 1030, 1130, 1230, 1330, 1430 & 1530. There are 2 car parks ,one on the left not far from the entrance.The other is at the far end of the settlement also on the left.The car parks will close at 5pm
Pre-booking: Book on day, Tour tickets can be booked from the middle door of the church
Here is a video which gives you a taste of this year’s displays: